Skip To Main Content

Robert C.J. Traub Memorial Scholarship

The Robert C.J. Traub Memorial Scholarship Travel Fund began in 1956. The purpose of the Scholarship is to contribute to the general cultural enrichment of the recipients and not primarily to advancement of their technical education in art or music.

The Traub judging panel is comprised of BHS teachers, administrators, and Ms. Lucy Bates. Ms. Bates, granddaughter of C.J. Traub and his wife, Elizabeth, established the scholarship over 50 years ago to benefit Bloomfield Hills students. Ms. Bates travels from her home in California to Bloomfield each year to be involved in the art and music adjudication and awarding of the scholarships.

The initial fund was created by a gift with the Fund to continue in perpetuity. Each year, all the income realized from the trust fund is distributed equally among the winners. In 1957, the first year of Traub competition, the fund provided two scholarships of $700. Since 1999, four scholarships have been awarded, two at Lahser and two at Andover. This year, Bloomfield Hills High School awarded a $7,500 scholarship to each of the winning candidates, one in art and one in music.

Important Dates

Traub Dates and Deadlines


Applications available

February 15, 2024

Applications due

March 15, 2024

Art Display Set-up

  April 17, 2024

Music Adjudication

  April 25, 2024

Art Adjudication

  April 26, 2024


  April 29, 2024

Art Display Takedown

  May 1, 2024

Traub News & Updates

Traub Winner, Minglu's, trip to Ireland

2023 Traub winner, Minglu, recounts a two-week journey through Ireland, beginning in Dublin, where they immersed themselves in the country's rich musical and historical tapestry. 

Traub Scholarship Winners

Many congratulations to the following Bloomfield Hills High School 12th grade students for being named this year’s Traub Award recipients: Art Award Winner: Thalia Pierre; Music Award Winner: Minglu Jiang; Art Alternate: Thomas Rascol; and Music Alternate: Henry Jackson.

Traub Awards Ceremony

Bloomfield Hills High School is proud to announce the Music and Art winners and alternates for the 2022 Traub Awards: Amalia Liakonis (Art); Samantha Bekolay (Music); Isabella Brown (Art Alternate); and Isabella Ashtari (Music Alternate).

2023 Traub Scholarship Presentation